History of "The Hubcap House"
September 23, 2005 Gary & Chris Johnson purchase "The Hubcap House" from August Matejzel.
History of our home . . .
We only have pieces and we will continue to work towards finding the facts. To date we have land abstracts dated from March 9, 1839 and a title for the house from 1900.
History of "The Hubcap House" . . .
The "Hubcap" House business was started by August Matejzel and his father August Sr. in February of 1980. It became known for its collection of over 10,000 hubcaps. It was easily recognized by the hub caps on the house and the two camper down Elm Trees that graced the front lawn of either side of the sidewalk leading to the entrance of the "shop." These two 100 plus year old peculiar looking trees are unique in the way that the branches twist and turn as they head skyward. The two camper down Elms are also listed as the two largest of their kind in Wisconsin. Only a few of the extremely rare trees were brought to America over 100 years ago from Scotland. The lower portions of each trunk are regularly straight, normal Elms but about four feet up the camper down Elm was grafted onto an American Elm giving the trees a gnarled and fascinating appearance like something of a fairytale.